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MEMORANDUM  

 
To:  Committee on Domestic Violence 

From: First Assistant Attorney General Kyle George  

Date:  July 17, 2019 

Subject: Attorney General’s Office Legislative Session in Review – 
Domestic Violence, Human Trafficking, and Sexual Assault 

 

On June 3rd, 2019, the 80th Nevada legislative session adjourned and was 
extremely successful for our office, and by extension Nevadans.  Six (6) out of 
the thirteen (13) bills in our legislative package that were enacted into law 
dealt with Domestic Violence (3), Human Trafficking (1), and Sexual Assault 
(2).  Additionally, the office worked in conjunction with several legislators on 
two bills of note which address protection orders and the creation of a Sexual 
Assault Survivor’s Bill of Rights. 
 
Below is a brief summary of the bills, followed by a more comprehensive 
outline of the changes to the law: 
 
Domestic Violence 
AB19:  Revises provisions relating to the service of process of temporary and 
extended DV protection orders, as well as increases the penalties for 
violations.  It also expands the scope of the Repository for Information 
Concerning Orders for Protection to maintain records for the additional 
offenses of stalking, aggravated stalking, and harassment, and calls for the 
retention of expired temporary and extended protective orders in the interest 
of public safety.  We are helping to fund the expansion of this repository via 
grants and settlements. 
 
AB41:  Strengthens the Confidential Address Program. This program 
protects survivors of domestic violence, trafficking and sexual assault from 
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being located by the perpetrator through public records. This bill expands the 
use of the Confidential Address Program to utility and telecommunications 
providers. It received support from Nevada businesses, such as NV Energy, 
Southwest Gas, AT&T, and others. 
 
AB60:  Increases penalties on domestic violence crimes, including repeated 
domestic battery, battery against pregnant victims, and battery resulting in 
substantial bodily harm.  It also updates Nevada’s stalking law, generally 
increases penalties on stalking, and the stalking of minor children. 
 
Human Trafficking 
SB7:  Increases penalties against those who solicit children for sex. It also 
expands statutory authority for law enforcement to conduct undercover 
operations against those seeking to solicit children. 
 
Sexual Assault 
AB16:  Increases the time for law enforcement officers to execute and return 
search warrants to obtain DNA samples. Previously, a search warrant had to 
be executed and returned to the Court within 10 days of issuance. However, if 
a subject is actively evading the police, law enforcement must return to the 
courts every 10 days to renew the warrant.  If the warrant lapses and the 
subject is subsequently located, law enforcement can only detain that person 
for one hour while they attempt to get the warrant renewed.  If the clock runs 
out before they are able to do so, the person must be released. The passage of 
AB 16 expands the effective period of a DNA warrant from that narrow 10-
day window to six months. 
 
SB9:  Removes the statute of limitation when a sexual assault is committed 
during the course of a murder. Under current law, if a victim of sexual 
assault or a person authorized to act on behalf of the victim files a police 
report within five years of the assault, the statute of limitations on the crime 
is lifted, and the crime can be prosecuted at any time in the future.  If, 
however, the victim does not file a report within five years, the statute of 
limitations for sexual assault is 20 years.  These statutes created a 
problematic loophole where victims of sexual assault who have been 
murdered are unable to file a report, making the prosecution of these crimes 
limited to only 20 years. This legislation closes that loophole. 
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A few other bills of note that our office worked extensively on: 
 
AB410:  Revises provisions relating to orders for protection against domestic 
violence or stalking, aggravated stalking or harassment by extending the 
duration of these orders from 30 to 45 days. 
 
AB176:  Enacts the Sexual Assault Survivors' Bill of Rights, outlines these 
rights, defines certain terms relating to victims of sexual assault, and creates 
the Advisory Committee on the Rights of Survivors of Sexual Assault.  
Specific to our office, and in looking to the leadership of Ms. Adair and Ms. 
O’Banion, we are now tasked with the development of this Survivor’s Bill of 
Rights.  We are excited for this opportunity, and are honored that the 
legislature entrusted us with this.   
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AB19 
 
Overview:  Revises provisions relating to the service of process of temporary 
and extended DV protection orders, as well as increases the penalties for 
violations.  It also expands the scope of the Repository for Information 
Concerning Orders for Protection to maintain records for the additional 
offenses of stalking, aggravated stalking, and harassment, and calls for the 
retention of expired temporary and extended protective orders in the interest 
of public safety.  We are helping to fund the expansion of this repository via 
grants and settlements. 

 
Bill Summary and Outline:   

Section 1.3: 
o Revises the service of process requirements by requires a law 

enforcement agency to attempt to serve an adverse party 
personally with a temporary order. If unable to do so, law 
enforcement are to leave a notice at the adverse party’s 
residence stating that the adverse party may respond within 24 
hours. If unsuccessful personal service three times, the 
applicant for the temporary order may petition the court to order 
the law enforcement agency to serve the adverse party at place 
of employment. If still unsuccessful, can serve by alternative 
service method pursuant to Nevada Rules of Civil Procedure.  

Section 1.7: 
o Removes the requirement to serve the copy of the temporary 

order at the adverse party’s place of employment 
Section 1: 

o Temporary or extended order for protection against domestic 
violence must include a notice to the adverse party that 
responding to a communication by the protected party may 
constitute a violation of the order 

Section 2 & 13: 
o Orders for protection expire after two years 
o Requires the court to enter a finding of fact providing the basis 

for the imposition of an extended order for a period of greater 
than one year.  
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o Authorizes either party at any time while protective order is in 
effect to move a court to modify or dissolve an extended order 
because of changed circumstances. 

Section 4: 
o First time offender of violating an order is guilty of a 

misdemeanor 
o If a person violates the order more than one time, it is a gross 

misdemeanor 
o If more than two times, the person is guilty of a category D 

felony 
Section 8: 

o Changes name of Repository to “Repository Information 
Concerning Orders for Protection” 

o Requires the Repository to maintain records within the Central 
Repository of all temporary and extended order for protection 
against stalking, aggravate stalking or harassment, and sexual 
assault.  

Section 10.3 & 10.7: 
o Require certain persons to transmit such orders to the Central 

Repository for transfer to the Repository for Information 
Concerning Orders for Protection 

 
 

AB41 
 
Overview:  Strengthens the Confidential Address Program. This program 
protects survivors of domestic violence, trafficking and sexual assault from 
being located by the perpetrator through public records. This bill expands the 
use of the Confidential Address Program to utility and telecommunications 
providers. It received support from Nevada businesses, such as NV Energy, 
Southwest Gas, AT&T, and others. 

 
Bill Summary and Outline:   

Section 1: 
o Requires a governmental entity or provider of a utility service in 

this State to allow the use of a fictitious address upon the 
request of a participant who has received a fictitious address 
issued by the Division 
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o Prohibits such entities from disclosing the same information 
prohibited from disclosure by the Division and expands the 
protected information to include the telephone number and 
image of the person with the fictitious address 

o Sets forth the circumstances under which such entities may 
maintain, use and disclose the confidential address of a 
participant. 

 
 

AB60 
 
Overview:  AB 60 increases penalties on domestic violence crimes, including 
repeated domestic battery, battery against pregnant victims, and battery 
resulting in substantial bodily harm.  It also updates Nevada’s stalking law, 
generally increases penalties on stalking, and the stalking of minor children. 

 
Bill Summary and Outline:  

Section 1 
o Revises the unlawful acts that constitute domestic violence to 

include coercion, burglary, home invasion and pandering. 
o Provides that such acts if committed by siblings against each 

other, unless in a custodial or guardianship relationship, or such 
acts if committed by cousins against each other, unless in a 
custodial or guardianship relationship, do not constitute 
domestic violence. 

o Authorizes a peace officer, under certain circumstances, to 
arrest a person when the officer has probable cause to believe 
that the person has committed a battery within the preceding 24 
hours upon: (1) a person with whom he or she is actually 
residing; (2) a sibling, if the person is not the custodian or 
guardian of the sibling; or (3) a cousin, if the person is not the 
custodian or guardian of the cousin. 

o Provides that liability cannot be imposed against a peace officer 
or his or her employer for a determination made in good faith 
not to arrest a person suspected of committing such a battery or 
a battery which constitutes domestic violence, as applicable 
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o Requires a peace officer to make an arrest based on probable 
cause if the person committed such a battery upon the custodian 
or guardian of the person’s minor child. 

o Removes the requirement that the officer make such an arrest 
for a battery committed upon a person with whom he or she is or 
was actually residing. 

Section 2 
o Authorizes the court to order the videotaping of a deposition of a 

victim of facilitating sex trafficking  
Section 3 

o Allows such a videotaped deposition of a victim of facilitating 
sex trafficking to be used instead of the deponent’s testimony at 
trial. 

o Requires the court to enter a finding of fact that a person has 
committed an act which constitutes domestic violence in such a 
person’s judgment of conviction. 

o Requires the court to order such a person to attend such 
counseling sessions relating to the treatment of persons who 
commit domestic violence under certain circumstances. 

Section 14 
o Revises the definition of “officer” to include a prosecuting 

attorney of an agency or political subdivision of the United 
States or of this State so that the expanded definition is 
included in NRS 200.471 and NRS 200.481. 

Section 15 
o Requires the court to impose intermittent confinement of not 

less than 12 consecutive hours for the first offense of a battery 
which constitutes domestic violence. 

o Increases the minimum term of imprisonment to 20 days for a 
person convicted of his or her second offense of battery which 
constitutes domestic violence. 

o Increases the penalty for such an act to a category B felony for a 
person convicted of his or her third offense of battery which 
constitutes domestic violence. 

o Provides that a person who has previously been convicted of any 
felony that constitutes domestic violence or a similar offense in 
another state and who commits a battery which constitutes 
domestic violence is guilty of a category B felony. 
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o If the act of battery which constitutes domestic violence was 
committed against a victim who was pregnant then the first 
offense is a gross misdemeanor; and the second or any 
subsequent offense is a category B felony and authorizes the 
court to impose a minimum fine of not less than $1,000 and not 
more than $5,000. 

o If the act of battery which constitutes domestic violence causes 
substantial bodily harm to the victim then the person is guilty of 
a category B felony, and the court is authorized to impose a fine 
of $1,000 to $15,000 

Section 17 
o Revises the definition of stalking to: (1) provide that the course 

of conduct must be directed at the victim; and (2) clarify that the 
conduct would cause the victim to be fearful for his or her 
immediate safety.  

o Increases the penalty for a third or any subsequent offense of 
stalking to a category C felony and authorizes a court to impose 
a fine of not more than $5,000.  

o Provides that if the crime of stalking is committed against a 
victim who is under the age of 16 and the person is 5 or more 
years older than the victim then the person is guilty of a gross 
misdemeanor for the first offense. The person is guilty of a 
category C felony and may be further punished by a fine of not 
more than $5,000 for the second offense. The person is guilty of 
a category B felony and may be further punished by a fine of not 
more than $5,000 for a third or any subsequent offense. 

Section 21 
o Authorizes a court to impose an additional fine of $500,000 on a 

person convicted of facilitating sex trafficking. 
Sections 38 & 39 

o Expands the definition of “victim” to include victims of the crime 
of facilitating sex trafficking so that such persons may be 
compensated under certain circumstances. 

Section 41 
o Authorizes the AG to appoint a subcommittee to carry out the 

duty of the Committee on Domestic Violence to review and make 
recommendations concerning such treatment programs; (2) 
requires a quorum of six members for all purposes; and (3) 
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authorizes the Committee to adopt regulations necessary to 
carry out its duties. 

Section 42 
o Expands the duties of the Office of Advocate for Missing or 

Exploited Children of the Office of the Attorney General to 
include investigating and prosecuting the crime of facilitating 
sex trafficking involving children. 

 
 

SB7 
 
Overview:  Increases penalties against those who solicit children for sex. It 
also expands statutory authority for law enforcement to conduct undercover 
operations against those seeking to solicit children. 
 
Bill Summary and Outline: 

Sections 1-4: 
o Deleted by the amendment 

Section 5: 
o Amends NRS 201.354 
o A person is guilty of soliciting a child for prostitution if the 

person solicits for prostitution: 
A peach officer who is posing as a child; or 
A person who is assisting a peace officer by posing as a 
child 

o Adds that a person who violates the first subsection is guilty of a 
misdemeanor.   

o Punishes customers who solicit a child for prostitution to higher 
felonies than previously.   

Punishes third time offenders by a minimum of 1 year 
imprisonment and no more than 6 years and may be 
furthered issued a fine of not more than $15,000.   

Section 6:  
o Deleted by amendment 

Section 7: 
o Effective July 1, 2019 
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AB16 
 
Overview:  Increases the time for law enforcement officers to execute and 
return search warrants to obtain DNA samples. Previously, a search warrant 
had to be executed and returned to the Court within 10 days of issuance. 
However, if a subject is actively evading the police, law enforcement must 
return to the courts every 10 days to renew the warrant.  If the warrant 
lapses and the subject is subsequently located, law enforcement can only 
detain that person for one hour while they attempt to get the warrant 
renewed.  If the clock runs out before they are able to do so, the person must 
be released. The passage of AB 16 expands the effective period of a DNA 
warrant from that narrow 10-day window to six months. 

 
Bill Summary and Outline: 

Sections 1: 
o Provides that a search warrant that provides for the collection of 

a biological specimen from a person may be executed and 
returned within 6 months after its issue. 

Section 5: 
o Effective October 1, 2019 

 
 

SB9 
 
Overview:  Removes the statute of limitation when a sexual assault is 
committed during the course of a murder. Under current law, if a victim of 
sexual assault or a person authorized to act on behalf of the victim files a 
police report within five years of the assault, the statute of limitations on the 
crime is lifted, and the crime can be prosecuted at any time in the future.  If, 
however, the victim does not file a report within five years, the statute of 
limitations for sexual assault is 20 years.  These statutes created a 
problematic loophole where victims of sexual assault who have been 
murdered are unable to file a report, making the prosecution of these crimes 
limited to only 20 years. This legislation closes that loophole. 

 
Bill Summary and Outline:  

Section 1 
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o Provides that there is no time limitation in which a sexual 
assault prosecution must be commenced if the sexual assault 
arises from the same facts and circumstances as a murder.  

Section 2 
o Makes a conforming change.  

 
 

AB410 
 
Overview:  AB 410 revises provisions relating to orders for protection against 
domestic violence or stalking, aggravated stalking or harassment by 
extending the duration of these orders from 30 to 45 days. 

 
Bill Summary and Outline:  

Section 1 
o Extends the period of time that a temporary order for protection 

against domestic violence is initially valid from 30 days to 45 
days. 

Section 2 
o Extends the period of time that a temporary order for protection 

against stalking, aggravated stalking, and harassment is 
initially valid from 30 days to 45 days. 

 
 

AB176 
 
Overview:  Enacts the Sexual Assault Survivors' Bill of Rights, outlines 
these rights, defines certain terms relating to victims of sexual assault, and 
creates the Advisory Committee on the Rights of Survivors of Sexual Assault.  
The Attorney General’s Office is now tasked with the development of the 
Survivor’s Bill of Rights.  We are excited for this opportunity, and are 
honored that the legislature entrusted us with this. 

 
Bill Summary and Outline:   

Sections 2-29 of   this bill   enact   the   Sexual   Assault Survivors’ Bill 
of Rights.  
Section 15 of this bill defines the term “survivor” for purposes  of  the  
Bill  of  Rights,  and  certain  other  purposes,  as  a  person  who  is  
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the victim  of  a  sexual  assault  or  certain  other  persons  if  the  
victim  is  incompetent, deceased or a minor. 
Section 16 of this bill provides that the Sexual Assault Survivors’ Bill 
of Rights attaches when a survivor is subject to: (1) a forensic medical 
examination; or (2) an interview by a  law  enforcement  official or 
prosecutor.  
Section 17 of  this  bill generally grants  a  survivor  the right  to  
consult  with a  sexual  assault victims’ advocate or to  designate an  
attendant for  support  during  a  sexual  assault  forensic medical   
examination   and   an   interview   with   a   law   enforcement   official 
or prosecutor.  
Section 18 of  this  bill  provides:  (1)  that a  survivor retains  the 
rights  set  forth  in section  17 even  if  the  survivor  has  waived  such  
rights  during  a previous  examination  or  interview;  and(2)  that, 
except  with  the  consent  of  the survivor, the fact that the survivor 
waived the right to consult with a sexual assault victims’ advocate is 
not admissible into evidence for any purpose. 
Section 19 of this bill outlines a survivor’s rights before and during a 
forensic medical examination and prescribe certain duties required of 
the medical provider.  
Section 20 of this bill makes conforming changes to reflect a survivor’s 
rights during an interview  with  a  law  enforcement  official or 
prosecutor, and  such  an interviewer’s duties.  
Section 21 of this  bill affords  a  survivor  the  right  to  counsel under 
certain circumstances. 
Sections 22-24 of this  bill  set  forth  procedures  regarding  the  
collection  and analysis of forensic evidence kits.  
Section 25 of this bill prohibits a defendant from challenging  his  or  
her  conviction  based  on  certain  persons  not  adhering  to  such 
collection  and  analysis  timelines.  
Section 26 of  this  bill  provides  that  forensic evidence  from  the  
sexual  assault  may  not  be  used  to  prosecute  a  survivor  under 
certain  circumstances. 
Section 27 of  this  bill  requires  the  Office  of  the  Attorney General 
to develop and make available certain information for a survivor 
regarding his or her sexual assault. 
Section 29 of this bill provides a survivor with certain rights regarding 
the legal process,  such  as  being  reasonably  protected  from  the 
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defendant,  being  allowed  to wait at trial in a separate area from the 
defendant, authorizing the survivor to make a  survivor  impact  
statement  under  certain  circumstances  and  prohibiting  the 
requirement  of  an  examination  by  polygraph  of  the  survivor  
before he  or  she  is authorized to participate in certain legal 
processes. 
Section 32 of this bill creates the Advisory Committee on Rights of 
Survivors of Sexual Assault 
Section 33 of this bill prescribes the duties of the Advisory Committee  
as  related  to  sexual  assault  forensic  evidence  kits,  sexual  assault 
victims’ advocates and  the  implementation  of  the  rights  guaranteed  
by  the  Sexual Assault Survivors’ Bill of Rights. Existing law requires 
a prosecutor to inform an alleged victim of sexual assault of the final 
disposition of the case if the case goes to trial. (NRS 200.3784) 
Section 35 of  this  bill  additionally  requires  the  prosecutor  to  
provide,  upon  the  written request  of  the  alleged  victim,  the  
pretrial  disposition  of  the  case and  information supplied by the sex 
offender registry regarding the defendant, if applicable. Existing  law  
sets  forth  certain  requirements  pertaining  to  the collection  and 
analysis of sexual assault forensic evidence kits.(NRS 200.3786)  
Section 36 of this bill  requires:  (1)  a  medical  provider  to notify  a  
law  enforcement agency  within 72 hours  of  conducting  a  forensic  
medical  examination; and(2)  the  law  enforcement agency to take 
possession of such a kit within 5 days of such notification. Existing  
law  requires  the  State  to  implement  a  statewide  tracking  system  
for sexual  assault  forensic  evidence  kits  and  to  submit  an  annual  
report  to  the Legislature regarding certain data collected by forensic 
laboratories analyzing such kits.  (NRS  200.3786,  200.3788)  
Section 36 eliminates  the requirement  to  make such a report.  
Section 37 of this bill requires that the survivor be allowed to track or 
receive certain updates via Internet or telephone.  
Section  40.5 of  this  bill  makes  an  appropriation  of $150,000 for  
each  fiscal year  to  the Office  of  the  Attorney  General  for  the  
purpose  of  awarding  grants  to organizations that will recruit and 
train persons to serve as sexual assault victims’ advocates. 


